Gluten Free Beer:
There are beer options out there for those who cannot consume gluten, but it can be pricier and takes some looking around. Right now in Canada the Beer industry does not have to fully disclose the ingredients in the beer, like gluten content, leaving those on gluten free diets in the dark.
Time will tell what the Canadian (and many other governments) will ever do to make the labeling more transparent. It is quite confusing why the beer industry is so against labeling? What are they hiding anyway? Let the Celiacs see! Pun intended
Beer originally only contained hops, barley and water, but in todays modern world many beers are full of preservatives and other additives like wheat that make some bellies churn even if you’re not allergic to gluten. So how is gluten free beer made then? Well, beer makers opt for other ingredients like buckwheat (a member of the rhubarb family), sorghum (a cereal native of Africa) or even rice. Right now the specialty non gluten beer is the only route if you want to be sure you aren’t getting gluten, so let’s look into what is available and where.
Here are some leading gluten free beer brands to try:
1.) Redbridge Beer – brewed with sorghum in St. Louis.
2.) Lakefront Brewery’s New Grist – brewed with sorghum and rice in Milwaukee.
3.) Bard’s Beer – brewed with malted sorghum in Minneapolis.
4.) New France Gluten Free Beer – 3 gluten free varieties each brewed differently. One with rice and buckwheat and another with malted millet. Brewed in Quebec, Canada.
5.) Green’s Gluten Free Beer – Several varieties brewed in the UK.
6.) O’Brien Brewery – Several varieties brewed in Australia.